Turns Out…I Had Walking Pneumonia…

Short Post Friday is here!  It is the first time that I have officially celebrated Short Post Friday, but this is a good week to do it.  I have a lot going on (not like it’s the week before Christmas!!!), and – well – as the title says, I am also sick.

In my post earlier this week, I mentioned that I experienced a crash over the weekend.  Or at least that is what I thought.  I went to the doctor on Wednesday because I had not slept the night before due to a dry, hacking cough and then a burning in my chest.  Turns out – I have walking pneumonia.  Lovely! The week before Christmas!  Just what I need as I wrap things up at work and at home before taking off for a week of time with family – some of whom are well into their eighties.  Being around them and contagious with a pneumonial (yes, I made that up)-type illness would not be good!  I am well medicated and on the mend.  Huzzah!

The hard part about having bipolar disorder and then being sick is that it is hard to know which one is which and then which one came first in a weekend when I just crash.  I could have been crashing; it was about time for that.  And it turns out I was getting sick. So was the crash just sickness that I had not identified yet?  Or was the crash there and then making me susceptible to illness?  Either, both, or some combination seems to be quite possible.  And in the end, does it matter?  I obviously did not fight off the illness well even though I slept quite a bit over the weekend thinking it was a crash.  I just got sicker and ended up needing antibiotics!

My daughter experienced something similar this summer while she was working at Village Creek Bible Camp in Iowa.  She has asthma, and summer camp seems to be wrought with the allergens which exacerbate her condition.  She is a great worker, though, and loves camp. She loves the kids, she loves family camp, and she loves her co-workers.  As the summer went on, she experienced a number of asthma related issues, spent some time in the small town ER (which, by the way, was awesome and much cheaper than our city hospitals!), and came home from the summer still not quite well.  Her illness-like self continued into the school year.  After she kept missing day after day, I pushed a doctor to a second mono test.

Guess what?  She most likely had mono at some point over the summer.  So – what came first?  Asthma or mono?  It didn’t really matter because one masked the other.  Asthma does not require one to rest, but mono does.  Once the child can breathe again, all should be well…but it was not well, and she kept having symptoms that eventually left her in a weakened condition and another asthma attack.  But she had mono!

This kind of thing happens all the time.  It is frustrating.  But – when it happens, it does make me think that we need to constantly be asking more questions and digging deeper.  Rarely is anything what it seems on the surface – with just about anything – and a little time and investigation will likely get to the root of the issue.  That is what needs to be addressed, and then all can be well.

As I write this, I think of how true this is in a lot of things….and so much for the short post…

(PS: this is a time when I am just seriously writing as I think…and my mind often takes an exit from one road and zooms down another – related but very different – highway.)

I work for Minnesota Virtual High School, one of the largest online schools in Minnesota, as the dean of students.  In that role, I am mostly known as the truancy lady.  My job is to get kids to log on and do their schoolwork.  Easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy, right?  So not.  Kids are kids.  And kids who avoid school do so for a reason.  It doesn’t really matter what the reason is, though, the law is that they have to go to school.  That’s all fine and dandy for the lawmakers, but it is not so easy for me.  If fining kids made them go back to school, we could just do that.  But – finding out what the root issue is … and then solving that … that is the key.

I sat in a meeting recently where this was so true.  The student had issues that were not being addressed, so she quit doing schoolwork.  Guess what?  It got the parents’ attention when I sent that letter home saying we were going to court if this was not resolved.  As the story unraveled and needs were revealed, the parents agreed to some things and the student agreed to some things.  There was a lot of work involved for everyone, including some people at the school, but I am hopeful that this student will be successful.

There you have it – a little lesson in Stacy’s racing mind.  Walking pneumonia and bipolar to asthma and mono ends a little family systems theory and school attendance issues.

Can I hear an “uff da”????

Happy Friday, all!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Turns Out…I Had Walking Pneumonia…

  1. Lucius Schmuck

    pneumonia usually attacks the body if the immune system gets very weak.’

    Kindly visit our own website too
    http://www.melatoninfaq.com/liquid-melatonin/

    Like

I love hearing from readers!

