Guest blog: “Scratching” Post

I truly love the regular author of this blog. She is my best friend and is also my wife. We have been married for over 16 years, and each year it gets better.

Like all marriages, there have been difficult times, and I am sure there will be more to come. The benefits, however, far outweigh these difficulties. I was reminded of this again this weekend (it was a long weekend – Thursday to Monday). Stace was in Iowa visiting our kids who are working at Village Creek Bible Camp, and I was in South Dakota visiting my mom and helping take care of my father who is in the late stages of Alzheimer’s. What reminded me of my appreciation for Stace wasn’t reading her blogs (although they were great), nor was it sleeping alone and not hearing the rhythm of her breathing next to me (that’s code for snoring), nor was it the opportunity to share our daily struggles in person (although that was missed). No what reminded me the most of my appreciation for Stace was in itch in the very middle of my back. No matter how I stretched I couldn’t scratch it, no matter what I used I couldn’t reach it, and no matter what I did I could not ignore it – a constant nuisance, a constant irritation, a constant reminder of why I am blessed to live life with Stace.

Tonight I came home, we talked about our days, we shared pieces of our weeks that have been a struggle, and I got my back scratched.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

I love hearing from readers!

