Living in Community

I want to start off by saying “thank you” to Sarah at lifeintheparsonage.blogspot.com for inspiring me to return to this way of life – the blogging life. 🙂 It is good. I’m trying, trying, trying to make this a nightly routine.

Tonight is not a unique night. My husband is away in Chicago (most Thursdays he is somewhere – FreedomWorks usually), we picked up the Spears youngest 2 from their softball game (they lost – sad news), Siah played capture the flag at Loring with the neighborhood led by the gym teacher there, and Beth and I made a quick trip to the St. Louis Park library to grab something for listening while driving. Then the fun began. Trinette (neighbor across the street) and Beth played text tag, and it ended with Beth and Trinette bopping over to the Afgani pizza place (Crescent Moon). All are home now – watching the first in the Lord of the Rings series. Another friend or two may stop in at some point after 10 p.m.

My front door and back door are almost always open – and many people know that they are welcome whenever. My house will almost always be on the edge of clean or dirty (not usually in an unhealthy way). My kids will still have first priority over most anyone. We may continue to cook, clean, or pay the bills around our visitors, but time for listening and laughter (or tears) are always here.

While this may scare others, this is just our life. I have always wanted a home that people could just stop in and be themselves – apparently we have that. The only thing that I don’t have is the kitchen booth – but my friend Jen has that. 🙂

It’s a good life.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Living in Community

  1. Being able to just do life with you guys, come over, eat pizza, watch a movie, tease the kids, laugh with you….. all these things are an answer to prayer, and make me feel part of community, which is God’s calling in our lives! Thank you for having an open door, and an open heart.

    Like

  2. YAY for blogging! We lived in St. Louis Park when Ben went to seminary at Central Baptist Seminary. 🙂

    Like

I love hearing from readers!

