FreedomWorks

Tonight I had an amazing opportunity to hear about a ministry here in Minneapolis – FreedomWorks. It’s a ministry to men who have been incarcerated and released. The ministry focuses on mentoring, providing them with a life (home, job search help, transportation), and fellowship.

It was a great informational night.

But it was also a great night to remember what Christ has done for us. One of the comments in the informational video really hit me: “At first I thought we were miles apart, but then I realized that we are not that different.” In other words, we are all sinners (Romans 3:23), and we are all in need of a Savior (Romans 6:23; John 3:16).

I think something that bugs me “in the church” is that we think of ourselves as the “in” crowd and view people outside of the church as “those people.” We forget that we are all in need of a Savior. The fact that I might have realized that only places more burden on me – it doesn’t make me any better than anyone else. This past weekend, I spoke at a camp, and I made the comment that sin is sin – it doesn’t matter if I am late to work or murder my neighbor – sin is sin in God’s eyes.

While these men coming out of prison certainly need a Savior and need fellowship to help them keep from heading back to a life of crime, I think there is a lot we all can learn from them. In order for any of us to keep from sinning more or “returning” to our life prior to Christ, we need to be honest and open with each other about our struggles.

These men that FreedomWorks support have an advantage over many of us – their crimes are public record. What if my sins were public record? Would I be better off? To a certain extent, I think I would be…especially if others around me surrounded me with love and mentoring and prayer.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “FreedomWorks

  1. Pingback: A Clean Slate « slowingtheracingmind

I love hearing from readers!

