Keeping Commitments

I just said to my husband, “Sure enough. As soon as I commit to a blog a day, I quit blogging.” I said this to him as we were about to fold a last minute load of laundry before Sunday. *Groan* I know – how romantic! 🙂 He said, “Go blog.” So – here I am…back on the blogging wagon. I might have to give myself tomorrow off as it is a busy day…Sunday…busy? But that is another blog topic…I digress….

After being married now for 13 years, you would think that I have mastered an ability to keep commitments long-term. That being said, however, marriage is one of the few things that I have ever committed to that I have stuck to….

Something I commit to each night before I go to bed is to stop drinking Coke. Both my husband and my friend Anita give me a hard time about this. Sometimes they become my watch dogs and even take the Coke away from me or prevent me from ordering it at a restaurant. Coke is bad for me; I know it is. It has ripped up my stomach, my intestinal track, and it is rotting my teeth. I have been hospitalized 3 times for kidney stones; diagnosis – too much Coke and dehydration (also a direct issue from Coke as it dehydrates, and I don’t drink water if I drink too much Coke). I know that it is bad for me; I need to give it up. I commit to quitting; I reduce the amount that I drink; I tell my son not to buy me one in the morning even though he knows that I will beg him to walk down the alley to Steamworks and buy me one (for $.86!!!!). But I don’t quit…I allow myself to remain in this stupid cycle. What happened to “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”? What happened to overcoming evil by doing good?

So…then…this brings me to another thought…my commitment to Christ. I have realized recently (through the leadership center stuff mentioned in another blog entry) that my commitment to Christ is terribly weak. However, for some reason, God’s commitment to me is quite strong. He brings me into His presence no matter what road I have chosen to travel – even ones completely outside of His will for me. He brings healing to my soul after bringing me face to face with my own depravity and the depravity of others in my life. Why?

So often we question why bad things happen to us when we think, for the most part, we are pretty good people. Why do bad things happen to good people? is a question that many struggle with – especially when being faced with the concept of surrending their life to Christ. In actuality, we are pretty bad people. I don’t mean this to put anyone else down – really. But let’s face it – we are selfish, self-seeking, self-fulfilling beings who are truly anything but good. The question really isn’t why bad things happen to good people….the question really should be why do good things happen to me? Why would God seek to bring things to me…when all I really am is an unfaithful wretch?

Truth: Jesus loves me this I know – for the Bible tells me so.
Beyond understanding: Amazing grace, how sweet the sound – that saved a wretch like me.
How: I am forgiven because He was forsaken; I’m accepted – He was condemned. I’m alive and well; His spirit lives within me…because He died and rose again.

Some verses in the Bible address this (see below). Seek Him; seek His plans for you – for they give you a hope and a future. Amen.

Jeremiah 29:11
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Psalm 139:13-16
For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place.
When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,
16 your eyes saw my unformed body.
All the days ordained for me
were written in your book
before one of them came to be.

Verses are taken from the NIV version.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

I love hearing from readers!

